Björn Meyer: Provenance (CD) 【ECM】

Björn Meyer: Provenance (CD) 【ECM】

庫存單位: ECM2566

There is a distinguished tradition of solo bass albums on ECM, but Provenance is the first to be devoted to the electric bass guitar. Björn Meyer, Swedish-born and Swiss-based, has shaped a unique voice for his instrument inside the most diverse contexts, working alongside Persian harpist and singer Asita Hamidi, Swedish nyckelharpa player Johan Hedin, and Tunisian oud master Anouar Brahem. For a decade he was a member of Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, in which his bass guitar was frequently the lead instrument. His solo work is concerned with the experience of sound in acoustic spaces: “Even though the instrument is technically non-acoustic, the music is deeply influenced by the properties of the space where it is played. The many different ways in which acoustics affect my compositions and improvisations have always been sources of surprise and inspiration. There is definitely a second member in this solo project – the room!” The participating room on Provenance is the highly responsive Auditorio Stello Molo RSI in Lugano, its rich acoustics helping to bring out all the fine detail in Meyer’s subtle playing.

Björn Meyer - 6-String Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass Guitar

01. Aldebaran
02. Provenance
03. Three Thirteen
04. Squizzle
05. Trails Crossing
06. Traces Of A Song
07. Pendulum
08. Banyan Waltz
09. Pulse
10. Dance
11. Garden Of Silence
12. Merry-Go-Round



    © 2023 by Primavera Studio. Proudly created with

    Join our mailing list