BBC無線電音樂工場:聲音之家  (Yellow Edge Glow Vinyl LP) 【Silva Screen】

BBC無線電音樂工場:聲音之家 (Yellow Edge Glow Vinyl LP) 【Silva Screen】

庫存單位: SILLP1511

BBC Radiophonic Workshop: The Soundhouse


In 1979 the Fairlight CMI (Computer Musical Instrument) was launched, the year that the BBC Radiophonic Workshop celebrated its 21st birthday . At the price of a house (approx £30,000) this state of the art piece of equipment was embedded with an 8 bit digital sampling synthesizer capable of emulating acoustic instruments and orchestras alongside the manipulation of sound effects. For the BRW this was a major game changer, where previously, composers would spend weeks editing small pieces of tape together to create sounds. Ingenuity and creativity in music and sound was still at the forefront for Workshop members but suddenly made a whole lot easier. This 1983 collection (a first time re-release here of the complete album) celebrated these new found freedoms most notably on the opening track where five Radiophonic composers combined to add their own musical identity to a rhythmic percussive sequence from the Fairlight. Highlights include music from the radio production of The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy and Fancy Fish based on Saint-Saen's Carnival Of The Animals which was the first BRW project to utilise the Fairlight.

<SIDE 1>
01. Peter Howell - Radiophonic Rock
02. Peter Howell - Lascaux
03. Jonathan Gibbs - Computers in the Real World
04. Dick Mills - Seascape
05. Paddy Kingsland - The Whale
06. Roger Limb - Ralleyman
07. Dick Mills - Catch the Wind
08. Malcolm Clarke - Believe It or Not
09. Elizabeth Parker - Planet Earth
10. Jonathan Gibbs - Dawn

<SIDE 2>
11. Peter Howell - Mainstream
12. Malcolm Clarke - The Unseeing Eye
13. Peter Howell - Fancy Fish ("Aquarium")
14. Paddy Kingsland - Brighton Pier
15. Dick Mills - Armagiddean War Games
16. Roger Limb - Yellow Moon
17. Elizabeth Parker - Radio Blackburn
18. Dick Mills - Macrocosm
19. Peter Howell - Land and People
20. Jonathan Gibbs - Houdin's Musical Box
21. Roger Limb - Ghost in the Water
22. Malcolm Clarke - The Milonga