Guidi / Petrella / Sclavis / Cleaver: Ida Lupino (CD) 【ECM】

Guidi / Petrella / Sclavis / Cleaver: Ida Lupino (CD) 【ECM】

庫存單位: ECM2462

Giovanni Guidi / Gianluca Petrella / Louis Sclavis / Gerald Cleaver: Ida Lupino


Pianist Giovanni Guidi and trombonist Gianluca Petrella, key figures in what some are hailing as a “golden age” of Italian jazz, found their strong improvisational rapport inside Enrico Rava’s band (see for instance the 2010 ECM album Tribe) and, keen to play more, formed a duo, giving many concerts in which they are intermittently joined by guests. For this studio recording, producer Manfred Eicher brought the duo together with US drummer Gerald Cleaver and French clarinetist Louis Sclavis, for an outgoing set of music which includes lyrical free improvising and tunes composed by Giovanni and Gianluca. The piece called “Gato!” tips the hat to Mr Barbieri, and title track “Ida Lupino” serves double duty as a salute to composer Carla Bley in her 80th year (Petrella once played in a big band under Carla’s direction) and as a tribute to Paul Bley, who popularized the tune and influenced so many improvisers (not least Giovanni Guidi).

Giovanni Guidi - Piano
Louis Sclavis - Clarinet, Bass Clarinet
Gianluca Petrella - Trombone
Gerald Cleaver - Drums

01. What We Talk About When We Talk About Love
02. Just Tell Me Who It Was
03. Jeronimo
04. Ida Lupino
05. Per i morti di Reggio Emilia
06. Gato!
07. La Terra
08. No More Calypso?
09. Rouge Lust
10. Things We Never Planned
11. Fidel Slow
12. Hard Walk
13. Zweig
14. The Gam Scorpions