Macy Gray: Stripped (Vinyl LP) 【Chesky】

Macy Gray: Stripped (Vinyl LP) 【Chesky】

庫存單位: LP389

"She’s insanely underrated as a songwriter, a wordsmith whose wordplay is clever, often drolly dark, and full of both biting wit and irony-free vulnerability." - Crave

"Macy Gray's sultry, raspy croon is a totally unique instrument unto itself. Even 15 years after most first heard it on her iconic single "I Try," there's still no voice quite like it." - Mic

"The iconic R&B singer sounds just as sultry as ever." - Elle Magazine

"The song (Annabelle) saunters in with some seductive guitar licks and showcases Gray's signature rasp as she croons the titular name." - Billboard

"This record showcases Macy Gray in what might be her bona fide persona. Gray is a throwback to the early days when jazz singers were not pretentious, but had to rely on their innate talent to carry the tune with raw emotion and sensual grace. Let's hope Chesky and Gray hook up again for an encore performance." - All About Jazz

"Gray's recognizable rasp shines" - Vulture

"Macy Gray Is Back and Better Than Ever" - Vogue

"Gray's patented purr-and-growl vocals thrive in the intimate setting and the well-chosen repertoire" - Associated Press

"It’s a departure from what we know her for ― a full-on jazz album, featuring a buoyant, snappy recording of “I Try.” - Huffington Post

"Marks the great artist's return in the form of Jazz fusion." - MTV

One of the most iconic and instantly recognizable voices in music history is back in a way you've never heard before. Macy Gray makes her Chesky Records debut with her new Jazz infused album, Stripped. Paired with an awe inspiring jazz ensemble that includes Ari Hoenig, Daryl Johns, Russell Malone, and Wallace Roney, Macy's voice is given the space and freedom to truly shine. Featuring new original songs, intriguing covers, and stunning new arrangements of her classic hits like "I Try," there's something for everyone on this timeless recording.

Macy Gray was born and raised in Ohio, and moved to California for college. She began singing in her 20s and released her multi-platinum debut album, On How Life Is, in 1999, winning a Grammy for her single, “I Try.”

Gray also enjoys acting, and has had small roles on several TV shows as well as movies, including Training Day with Denzel Washington, and Shadowboxer with Cuba Gooding Junior. Additionally she made cameo appearances as herself in films like Spider-Man (2002) and television shows like Ally McBeal. In 2012, she appeared in the film The Paperboy with Matthew McConaughey, Zac Efron, John Cusack, and Nicole Kidman. The film was released at the Cannes Film Festival. Gray was also a contestant on the ninth season of Dancing with the Stars in 2009.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band appears right before you with this spacious, lush and multi-dimensional recording. Now headphone users will hear the same three-dimensional sound and imaging as audiophiles have for the past 25 years with Chesky Recordings. Also these new Binaural+ Series albums capture even more spatial realism for the home audiophile market, bringing you one step closer to the actual event. You will hear some of the most natural and pure cool music ever recorded.

01. Annabelle
02. Sweet Baby
03. I Try
04. Slowly
05. She Ain’t Right For You
06. First Time
07. Nothing Else Matters
08. Redemption Song
09. The Heart
10. Lucy