Mal Waldron Trio: Free At Last (Extended Edition) (2Vinyl LP)【ECM】

Mal Waldron Trio: Free At Last (Extended Edition) (2Vinyl LP)【ECM】

庫存單位: ECM1001LP

Revisited, with additional takes, texts and photos, here is the very first ECM session, recorded in Ludwigsburg in November 1969, featuring the great American pianist Mal Waldron, whose resume included work with Coltrane, Mingus, Dolphy and Billie Holiday. In his original liner notes, Mal wrote: “This album represents my meeting with free jazz. Free jazz for me does not mean complete anarchy… You will hear me playing rhythmically instead of soloing on chord changes.” As Jazz Journal noted, “tough, two-handed modal blues” predominates, and the music sounds as fresh now as the day it was recorded. Indeed, the tersely-grooving “Boo” and “Rock My Soul” could be club hits half a century later. The Extended Anniversary Edition of Free At Last is issued as an audiophile vinyl double album.

Mal Waldron - Piano
Isla Eckinger - Double-Bass
Clarence Becton - Drums

<Side A>
01. Rat Now
02. Balladina
03. 1-3-234

<Side B>
01. Rock My Soul
02. Willow Weep For Me
03. Boo

<Side C>
01. 1-3-234 (var.)
02. Balladina (var.)

<Side D>
01. Boo (var.)
02. Willow Weep For Me (long version)