Trovesi / Coscia: La misteriosa musica della Regina Loana (CD) 【ECM】

Trovesi / Coscia: La misteriosa musica della Regina Loana (CD) 【ECM】

庫存單位: ECM2652

This hugely enjoyable and highly inventive album is dedicated to the late Umberto Eco, a lifelong friend of accordionist Gianni Coscia and an ardent champion of this particular duo. Eco’s The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loanna, a meditation on the nature of memory, inspires Trovesi and Coscia on their own nostalgic and exploratory journey, referencing music mentioned in the novel and free-associating upon its philosophical themes. As ever, the Italians cast a wide net, playing songs associated with Louis Armstrong, Glenn Miller and George Formby, paraphrasing Janáček, dipping into movie music, and improvising most creatively while keeping their dedicatee in view. Repertoire revisits “Interludio”, a piece that Umberto Eco and Gianni Coscia collaborated on 70 years ago, and Gianluigi Trovesi crafts a new composition on the letters of Eco’s name. From multiple perspectives, a brilliant tribute.

Gianluigi Trovesi - Piccolo Clarinet, Alto Clarinet
Gianni Coscia - Accordion

01. Interludio
02. Nebjana I
03. Basin Street Blues
04. Nebjana II
05. As Time Goes By
06. Pippo non lo sa
07. Fischia il vento
08. Moonlight Serenade
09. In cerca di te
10. Bel Ami
11. Eco
12. EIAR: I. Ma l'amore no / II. Silenzioso Slow / III. Tu musica divina IV. Bambina innamorata V.Mille lire al mese
13. Gragnola
14. Nebjana III
15. Inno dei sommergibili
16. Umberto
17. Volando
18. La piccinina
19. Moonlight Serenade (var.)