top of page
貝多芬鋼琴奏鳴曲集8|鋼琴:席夫 András Schiff / Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Vol.8 (CD) 【ECM】

貝多芬鋼琴奏鳴曲集8|鋼琴:席夫 András Schiff / Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Vol.8 (CD) 【ECM】

SKU: ECM1949

The last stage on a long journey: It was a jour fixe for all major newspapers and music critiquesin Germany and Switzerland when András Schiff’sBeethoven cycle reached the famous triptych of his very last sonatas in the concert halls in Zurich and Munich in November 2006. “This was a Beethoven which transfixed the audience with its Apollonian balance, its subtly hued sonic and dynamic differentiation, depth of thought and technical command…The three sonatas sounded like a quintessence of pure late style, otherworldly as if made from precious marble”, wrote Julia Spinola in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. The booklet for the final volume of this cycle that is very likely to set new artistic and editorial standards will include not only an extensive interview with the pianist on the recorded sonatas but also a performer’s note about his personal approach to and experiences with Beethoven.

〈Recorded September 2007〉

András Schiff - piano 

Sonata No. 30 E major op. 109
01. Vivace, ma non troppo – Adagio esspressivo
02. Prestissimo
03. Gesangvoll, mit innigster Empfindung. Andante molto cantabile ed espressivo

Sonata No. 31 A-flat major op. 110
04. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo
05. Allegro molto
06. Adagio ma non troppo – Fuga. Allegro ma non troppo

Sonata No. 32 c minor op. 111
07. Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato
08. Arietta. Adagio molto semplice e cantabile

Total duration: 64:44